Recycle/Reuse Sweater Challenge #1

I have decided to hold my first Feathered Fibers Recycle/Reuse  Challenge for all you creative souls out there.    Anyone creative may participate.  All you have to do is create something artsy/crafty out of an old sweater or thrift store find; something you would actually wear or display in your home or studio that uses the philosophy of recycle/reuse.

You will need to post your  creation on your blog, and link back to this post.  Feel free to use the artwork above in your blog posting. (Save it to your computer as “Right Click, Save as” for PC users, and “Control, click, save as” for Mac Users).   If you do not have a blog, but still want to participate,  once you have your project ready to share, just drop me a comment and I will post it for you.

To help get those creative juices flowing,  here are just a few ideas:

-Deconstruct the sweater and reuse the yarn.

-Felt the sweater and then cut it apart and reuse it.  Here is a tutorial for how to spot wool and felt it.

-Add to the sweater and improve on it.  Here is a tutorial

-Only use part of the sweater.

-Chop the sweater up and create a fiber fabric out of it using this tutorial.

-Make a stuffed plushie.

-Create a winter hat or slippers.

Here a tutorial from Betz White for a pomander project using recycled sweaters.  See her other free tutorials, too.

Google “recycled sweater,” “recycled sweater project” or a similar term to locate fun ideas.

Any questions?   I hope you will join in the fun.

Regards, Carla

15 thoughts on “Recycle/Reuse Sweater Challenge #1

  1. Yes, I still need to do mine, too. Hmm… I had better get on it today.

    I am also going to sort through my thrift store finds… I already have some on hand. I think I will unravel a sweater and incorporate it into something else.

  2. Hmmm, I might play. Yesterday I bought 8 thrifted sweaters and felted them. The are hanging from my quilting frame, and I’m contemplating what to do with them.

  3. Pingback: Thrift Store Shopping « Feathered Fibers

  4. Pingback: Making Felted Wool Mittens « apron strings

  5. I’m a day late and dollar short, but I finally managed to start using my felted wool. I posted a picture of my first project on my blog. Take a look. I’ve got plenty of wool left and will be using more soon. Thanks for the challenge. oxo

  6. Pingback: Recycled Sweater Challenge… still ongoing! « Feathered Fibers

  7. Pingback: Repurposed Felted Wool Tea Cozy « apron strings

  8. Pingback: More Felting Fun – Slippers « apron strings

Leave a Reply

